MIFF 12-9_1340Founded in 1998, the Maine International Film Festival (MIFF) is a project of the Maine Film Center.

10 days, 100 films, 50 filmmakers
During the 10 days of the festival we show nearly 100 films, representing the best of American independent and international cinema. We also spotlight some of Maine and New England’s most exciting and innovative filmmakers.

More than just movies
Audiences also have opportunities to meet and talk with some of the people behind the movies – directors, producers, writers, musicians. Every year we honor members of the independent film industry whose contributions to cinema deserve recognition. Our honored guests and visiting filmmakers host panel discussions as well as informal Q&A sessions, giving the audiences an incredible chance to hear about the art of film from those on the front lines. MIFF’s special guests have included Mid-Life Achievement Award winners Glenn Close (MIFF 2014), Keith Carradine (MIFF 2013), Thelma Schoonmaker (MIFF 2012), Malcolm McDowell (MIFF 2011), Jay Cocks (MIFF 2010), John Turturro (MIFF 2008), Bud Cort (MIFF 2007), Walter Hill (MIFF 2006), Lili Taylor (MIFF 2005 “Pre” Mid-Life Achievement Award Honoree), Ed Harris (MIFF 2004), Peter Fonda (MIFF 2003), Jonathan Demme (MIFF 2002), Sissy Spacek (MIFF 2001), Terrence Malick (MIFF 2000), and Jos Stelling (MIFF 1999).

622013_4293890903909_272230555_oMIFF Staff

Shannon Haines, Festival Director
Ken Eisen, Programming Director
Alan Sanborn, Technical Director

J-sun Baily, Technical Support
Jordan Bell, Tech Team
Nancy Bixler, Associate Programmer
Rachel Hawkins, Intern
Rick Harmon, Head Projectionist
Sally Ann Hart, Special Events Coordinator
Jake Hickey, Tech Team
Lisa Lessard, Guest Services Coordinator
Arleen King-Lovelace, Guest Services Coordinator
Craig Lyons, Publicist
Jak Peters, Associate Programmer
Julia Sidelinger, Volunteer Coordinator; Guest Bag Coordinator
Jessica Shoudy, Print Shipping
Jennifer Strode, Festival Bookkeeper
Bria Watson, Associate Programmer
Karen Young, Shorts Programmer

2015 Festival Venue Managers
Bria Watson, Opera House Venue Manager
Sydney Abrams, Opera House Assistant Venue Manager
Robert King, Opera House Assistant Venue Manager
Serena Sanborn, Railroad Square Cinema Venue Manager
Nancy Bixler, Railroad Square Cinema Assistant Venue Manager

Additional Festival Support
Graphic Design: Lisa Oakes, Lavender Designs
T-shirt Printing: Black Dog Graphics
Web Support: Ben Greeley
MIFF Moose Design: Laurel McLeod
Festival Photography: Chuck Robinson