Film Submissions

Submit your film to MIFF 2019

Founded in 1998, MIFF is a project of the Maine Film Center. The festival runs for 10 days and includes screenings of 100 selected films representing the best of American independent and international cinema. There are unique opportunities to connect directly with the community and the people behind the movies during this inclusive and celebratory event.

We’ve made it easier than ever to submit your short or feature-length film.


Awards & Prizes

Every year we honor a filmmaker whose contributions to cinema deserve recognition with the the iconic MIFF Moose award. Our honored guests and visiting filmmakers host panel discussions as well as informal Q&A sessions, giving audiences an incredible chance to hear about the art of film from those on the front lines.

MIFF’s award honorees have included Dominique Sanda (MIFF 2018), Lauren Hutton (MIFF 2017), Robert Benton (MIFF 2016), Gabriel Byrne (MIFF 2016), Michael Murphy (MIFF 2015), Glenn Close (MIFF 2014), Keith Carradine (MIFF 2013), Thelma Schoonmaker (MIFF 2012), Malcolm McDowell (MIFF 2011), Jay Cocks (MIFF 2010), John Turturro (MIFF 2008), Bud Cort (MIFF 2007), Walter Hill (MIFF 2006), Lili Taylor (MIFF 2005), Ed Harris (MIFF 2004), Peter Fonda (MIFF 2003), Jonathan Demme (MIFF 2002), Sissy Spacek (MIFF 2001), Terrence Malick (MIFF 2000), and Jos Stelling (MIFF 1999).

The Audience Favorite Award is announced at the MIFF Closing Night ceremony. Film-goers who have seen at least three new releases during the festival are eligible to vote.