Robert Benton, Oscar-Winning Director/Screenwriter, to be honored with MIFF Lifetime Achievement Award

posted in: MIFF Category | 0

Benton headshotThe Maine International Film Festival will present Robert Benton, Oscar-Winning Director/Screenwriter, with a Lifetime Achievement Award on July 10 at the Waterville Opera House. Benton, best known for films including Kramer vs. Kramer (1979), Bonnie and Clyde (1967) and Nobody’s Fool (1994), is a three-time Academy Award winning director and screenwriter who has directed eight different actors in Oscar-nominated performances. Benton has collaborated closely with Maine-based Pulitzer-Prize winning novelist and screenwriter Richard Russo, earning an Oscar nomination for Best Writing for his screenplay based on Nobody’s Fool. The two also co-wrote the 1998 film Twilight, starring Paul Newman, Susan Sarandon, and Gene Hackman, and Russo went on to dedicate his Pulitzer-winning novel Empire Falls to Benton in 2002.

To honor the acclaimed director/screenwriter, MIFF will be screening the following Benton films: Kramer vs. Kramer, Nobody’s Fool, The Late Show and Bonnie & Clyde. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented at the screening of Nobody’s Fool on Sunday, July 10 at 6:30 p.m. at the Waterville Opera House, and Richard Russo will also be in attendance to assist with the award presentation. Tickets to the award ceremony and screening are available online. Benton will be in Waterville July 9 -10.

“It’s an immense pleasure and honor to welcome Benton to MIFF to accept a richly-deserved Lifetime Achievement Award, and to share his films with us,” relayed MIFF Programming Director Ken Eisen.