The 20th edition of the Maine International Film Festival will reflect the same distinctive mix of premiering new American and international features and documentaries, innovative shorts programs, films made in Maine and rediscoveries and retrospectives—only this year’s very special program will be all that even more strongly than ever before.

This special year:

  • over a dozen past MIFF favorite guests including Achievement Award honorees and others return to present favorite films of their choices! MIFF’s special guests have included Achievement Award honorees Robert Benton (MIFF 2016), Gabriel Byrne (MIFF 2016), Michael Murphy (MIFF 2015), Glenn Close (MIFF 2014), Keith Carradine (MIFF 2013), Thelma Schoonmaker (MIFF 2012), Malcolm McDowell (MIFF 2011), Jay Cocks (MIFF 2010), John Turturro (MIFF 2008), Bud Cort (MIFF 2007), Walter Hill (MIFF 2006), Lili Taylor (MIFF 2005), Ed Harris (MIFF 2004), Peter Fonda (MIFF 2003), Jonathan Demme (MIFF 2002), Sissy Spacek (MIFF 2001), Terrence Malick (MIFF 2000), and Jos Stelling (MIFF 1999).
  • we inaugurate the Karl Struss Legacy Award, named in honor of Maine pioneering cinematographic genius Karl Struss, to be given to a legendary Oscar-nominated cinematographer!
  • be the first audiences anywhere to see several WORLD PREMIERES of highly anticipated new films from Maine, elsewhere in the U.S. and Europe.
  • discover 100 great new films and restorations and revivals from around the world and close to home, including premieres of features and shorts from here in Maine and every other continent!

Join us for the excitement as it unfolds, here on the website and July 14-23 in Waterville!

MIFF 2017 to open with Maine-shot The Sounding

The 20th annual Maine International Film Festival is bringing the Maine to MIFF right out of the gate by presenting The Sounding, a film shot on location on Monhegan Island, as its Opening Night film. read more…